Day One

It’s one of those spontaneous moments. Let’s just get in the car and drive. Okay, well not quite. My daughter and I have been talking about driving west pretty much since last summer when we did it. I’ve promised friends in Calgary I’ll cat sit for them for July and August while they go to Europe and my daughter wants to move to Vancouver to go to school. My luggage fills the back of my Hyundai Tucson and my daughter’s worldly possessions take up the entire back seat.

We drive out of Ottawa through the late spring dampness to the little community of Thessalon on the north shore of Lake Huron. We stay the night at a friend’s farm just north of there. Relieved to be on our way westward, with a destination in mind, my daughter slides our road music into the CD slot:

And the caravan is on its way, I can hear the merry gypsies play

 

