complimentary lunch

complimentary lunch

JULY 1, 2015. SIXTH DAY OF JOURNEY HOME

I understand why some travellers are upset by delays. They’re meeting loved ones. They have plans. They have schedules. But, as a solo gypsy traveller, the 12-hour delay arriving home is a gift for me of another day on the road.

It’s an opportunity to chat with new friends. It’s an extra night’s sleep in a luxurious king-sized bed on the 13th floor of The Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Sure, the bed is way too big for me – I curl up at the window side, barely wrinkling the pure white sheets. The white marble floor in the bathroom is nearly blinding and only lightly trodden by someone who prefers to sleep in than to wallow in the bathtub.

I toss my $15 breakfast voucher as it’s simply too early for me to breakfast. Instead, a glass of juice with a complimentary packet of shortbread cookies on the Toronto-to-Ottawa train staves off my hunger until the one o’clock lunch served to us in Business Class – Via’s apology for yesterday’s delay getting into Toronto.

Lunch is so thoroughly delicious – cold seasoned chicken and ouzo pasta with a mini Greek salad, a whole-wheat roll, red wine in a real glass and a decadent brownie and mint tea for dessert.

I’m definitely appeased. Via, your apology is accepted.

Goodbye. I’m so going to miss being on the road.

home station

home station

